top of page

The umbrella...

Here’s a story you may have heard before.

Years ago, in a drought stricken land, the local community would gather Sunday after Sunday in the church to pray for rain. But to no avail. The sun beat down and the ground remained dry.

One day a child came to church carrying an umbrella. Of course the people laughed at her. What use would she have for an umbrella. The Pastor called the child up with her umbrella. He told the congregation that this was the first time, in a very long time of praying for rain, that anyone had taken a step of faith in believing that God would actually answer their prayers and send rain.

If the umbrella represents the “act of faith”, then it is any action one takes toward believing in that thing you want to change or the dream you want to make come true.

Since hearing that story many years ago, I often challenge myself about what my umbrella is in different circumstances. For example, right now I am trusting for my new, part-time business to grow into my full time income. That way I can work in the area I love, make a difference and have more flexibility for my family. What is my umbrella? Believing in what I do, promoting the business and believing that it will grow.

Everyone’s situations are different. Perhaps you are looking at starting a business too, or becoming a stay at home mom, taking a course or making new friends. Whatever it is, to take the thought to a reality requires a first step. A step of faith. What is your umbrella?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page